The Mercedes-Benz Cup

April 19, 2004 04:26 PM

The Mercedes-Benz Cup is an ATP International Series event and offers over $1,000,000 in player prize money. This men’s 32 singles and 16 doubles competition is held at the Los Angeles Tennis Center at University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), home of the 1984 Olympic Games. Proceeds from the Mercedes-Benz Cup, held in conjunction with UCLA, benefit the grassroots programs of the non-profit Southern California Tennis Association (SCTA) and UCLA. The SCTA offers programs, leagues, and tournaments involving 300,000 juniors and 50,000 adults and seniors.

Previous winners of the Mercedes-Benz Cup, whose history dates to 1927, include Andre Agassi, Michael Chang, Pete Sampras, Jim Courier, Michael Stich, Boris Becker, Richard Krajicek, Stefan Edberg, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Arthur Ashe, Rod Laver, Ken Rosewall, Pancho Gonzalez, Jack Kramer, Don Budge, Ellsworth Vines and Bill Tilden.

TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR: Bob Kramer P: 310/824-1010
MEDIA CONTACT: Toby Zwikel P: 818/344-6195