The Rogers Cup

April 19, 2004 04:29 PM

The Rogers Cup is a 64 singles and 28 doubles draw, WTA Tier I event, offering $1.3 million in prize money. Owned and operated by Tennis Canada, a non-profit national sport association, all profits generated from the Rogers Cup are reinvested in the development of tennis across Canada. Since its inception in 1892, the event has achieved world-class acclaim, including a world record in attendance for a single week women's professional event with 163,941 spectators. This is the Tour's third longest running tournament behind Wimbledon and the US Open.

Previous Champions include Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, Martina Hingis, Monica Seles, Steffi Graf, Serena Williams, Jennifer Capriati and defending champion Justin Henin-Hardenne.

TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR: Stacey Allaster P: 416/665-9777
MEDIA CONTACT: Nathalie Boivin P: 514/273-1515