The Legg Mason Tennis Classic

April 19, 2004 04:31 PM

Founded in 1969 by Tournament Chairman Donald L. Dell and Honorary Tournament Chairman John A. Harris, The Legg Mason Tennis Classic is an ATP International Series Event owned by the Washington Tennis & Education Foundation (WTEF) and managed by SFX Sports. This 32 singles and 16 doubles draw tournament awards $500,000 in prize money and attracts over 74,000 spectators. A portion of the proceeds from the tournament benefits WTEF which seeks to improve the life prospects of DC area youth, particularly from lower-income communities through tennis, educational and community-based activities.

Past champions include Tim Henman, James Blake, Andy Roddick, Alex Corretja, Andre Agassi, Michael Chang, Stefan Edberg, Jimmy Connors, Ivan Lendl, Guillermo Vilas and Arthur Ashe.

TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR: Jeff Newman P: 202/686-2000
MEDIA CONTACT: Audrey D’Onofrio P: 202/721-7257