Seventy-Eighth Annual Mercedes-Benz Cup Fundraiser to be held July 12-18 at UCLA

April 19, 2004 06:54 PM

Mercedes-Benz USA Extends Title Sponsorship

Wayne Ferreira of South Africa holds up the trophy after defeating Lleyton Hewitt of Australia during the finals of the Mercedes-Benz Cup on August 3, 2003.© Getty Images
– Southern California’s longest-running tennis event, the Mercedes-Benz Cup, will be held again this summer at UCLA, with new dates of July 12-18. In 2003, the venerable ATP International Series event featured a dramatic and entertaining championship singles final in which former world No. 1 and U.S. Open and Wimbledon champion Lleyton Hewitt was upset by No. 7 seed Wayne Ferreira, 6-3, 4-6, 7-5.

Mercedes-Benz USA has extended its title sponsorship of the Mercedes-Benz Cup for two years, through 2005. The luxury car company has been title sponsor of the event since 1997.

“The tournament’s rich history and quality of competition are great complements to the Mercedes-Benz brand,” said Mike Slagter, Mercedes-Benz’s Vice President of Sales/West. “It also allows us to give back to the Los Angeles community through valuable year-round grassroots tennis programs.”

“The Tournament and Tennis Association are delighted to continue their extremely successful relationship with Mercedes-Benz,” said Tournament Director Bob Kramer. “Mercedes-Benz has been a champion in the automotive arena for more than 100 years. That long history of success complements our 78-year tradition of quality tennis in Los Angeles. We are looking forward to this summer’s event being one of our greatest ever.”

The Mercedes-Benz Cup enhances Mercedes-Benz’s extensive sports marketing program that includes sponsorship of ATP Tennis, PGA Tour golf, and Formula One Racing. Mercedes-Benz is the preeminent corporate partner and the Official Car of the ATP. Its three-pointed star logo adorns the nets at more than 50 ATP tennis tournaments each year, including the Tennis Masters Series.

Previous winners of the Mercedes-Benz Cup, whose history dates to 1927, include Andre Agassi, Michael Chang, Pete Sampras, Jim Courier, Michael Stich, Boris Becker, Richard Krajicek, Stefan Edberg, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Arthur Ashe, Rod Laver, Ken Rosewall, Pancho Gonzalez, Jack Kramer, Don Budge, Ellsworth Vines and Bill Tilden.

Proceeds from the Mercedes-Benz Cup, held in conjunction with UCLA, benefit the grassroots programs of the non-profit Southern California Tennis Association (SCTA) and UCLA. The SCTA offers programs, leagues, and tournaments involving 300,000 juniors and 50,000 adults and seniors. Inquiries regarding tickets and information may be directed to the Mercedes-Benz Cup tournament office on the UCLA campus. For information, please call 310-824-1010 or visit online at