Bank of the West Classic Celebrates 34 Years

July 12, 2004 08:36 AM

The Bank of the West Classic is a WTA Tour Tier II event, featuring a 28 singles and 16 doubles draw. The first women’s tournament on the newly-created U.S. Open Series, it offers $585,000 in total prize money.

Now celebrating its 34th year, the Bank of the West Classic is the longest-running women-only professional tennis tournament in the world. The Taube Family Tennis Stadium has hosted the event since 1997. Before then, the tournament was held at the Oakland Coliseum Arena and the San Francisco Civic Auditorium. Last year, more than 45,000 fans attended this summer classic.

Previous winners of the Bank of the West Classic include Venus Williams, Kim Clijsters, Lindsay Davenport, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario, Martina Navratilova, Zina Garrison, Chris Evert and Hana Mandlikova.

TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR: Gus Sampras P: 415/227-8000
MEDIA CONTACT: Lara Potter P: 818/344-1714