Roger Federer, Maria Sharapova Capture 2007 US Open Series Men's and Women's Titles

August 19, 2007 08:21 PM

US Open Series Champions to Compete for Largest Payout in Tennis History at US Open -- $2.4 Million

Second and Third Place to be Determined as Series Concludes in New Haven; Finals to Be Broadcast on CBS and ESPN2

Roger Federer and Maria Sharapova clinched the 2007 US Open Series men’s and women’s titles Sunday. Federer and Sharapova, the defending US Open singles champions, will now compete for the largest payout in tennis history at the 2007 US Open -- $2.4 million ($1.4 million for winning the US Open and a $1 million bonus for winning the US Open and the US Open Series).

World No. 1 Roger Federer won his first US Open Series title, defeating James Blake in the final of the Western & Southern Financial Group Masters in Cincinnati, 6-1, 6-4, Sunday.

Sharapova won the women’s US Open Series title when Justine Henin defeated Jelena Jankovic in the final of the Rogers Cup in Toronto, 7-6 (3), 7-5. Jankovic and Patty Schnyder were the only players who could overtake Sharapova in the US Open Series Lever 2000 Standings. Schnyder lost her first round match in New Haven earlier in the day.

Second and third place finishers of the US Open Series will also compete for bonus prize money at the US Open. Second place US Open Series finishers can win an additional $500,000 bonus if they win the US Open. Third place US Open Series finishers can win an addition $250,000 bonus if they win the US Open. The 2007 US Open Series concludes this week at Pilot Pen Tennis in New Haven. The tournament will be broadcast on ESPN2 and the finals will be broadcast on CBS and ESPN2 on Saturday, August 25.

The US Open Series Standings after Week Five:

(through August 25, 2007)
2007 Final Men's Standings
2007 Final Women's Standings

^NOTE: Only players earning points in two (2) US Open Series events are eligible for the final standings.

The US Open Series is the six-week summer tennis season linking 10 major ATP and Sony Ericsson WTA Tour tournaments to the US Open. Since its inception in 2004, the six-week US Open Series has doubled television viewership and increased attendance, while generating new corporate partnerships for the sport.

In 2006, Andy Roddick captured his second straight US Open Series Lever 2000 Challenge and claimed $500,000 in bonus prize money for his runner-up finish at the 2006 US Open for a total payout of $1.1 million. Maria Sharapova, who finished second in the women’s final US Open Series Lever 2000 Challenge standings, also took home $500,000 on top of the $1.2 million she received for winning the women's singles tournament for a total payout of $1.7 million.