Ginepri takes early lead in Olympus US Open Series Bonus Challenge Standings

July 26, 2009 08:48 PM

The 2009 Olympus US Open Series, now in its sixth season, began this week with unseeded Robby Ginepri winning his second title at the Indianapolis Tennis Championships in an all-American final against No. 3 seed Sam Querrey 6-2, 6-4. 

Ginepri won his first Olympus US Open Series title at Indianapolis in 2005, the same year he reached the semifinals of the US Open. Querrey reached his third final of 2009 and first career final on the Olympus US Open Series.

Ginepri now takes the early lead in the Olympus US Open Series Bonus Challenge, in which the men's and women's winners will compete for $1 million in bonus prize money at the 2009 US Open.

CLICK HERE  for the Olympus US Open Series Bonus Challenge men’s leaders after Week 1.

Next on the Olympus US Open Series:  The men will compete at the LA Tennis Open -- including the first appearance on the Olympus US Open Series this summer by Tommy Haas, Mardy Fish and Marat Safin. The women begin the Olympus US Open Series in Stanford with Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Maria Sharapova and Jelena Jankovic included in the main draw. ESPN2 will provide 16 hours of coverage, including the finals on Sunday beginning at 3:00 p.m. ET. Tennis Channel will provide more than 20 hours of coverage beginning Thursday.

Rafael Nadal won the 2008 Olympus US Open Series men’s title and Dinara Safina won the women’s title.  In 2007, Roger Federer collected the biggest paycheck in tennis history -- $2.4 million -- for winning US Open and the Olympus US Open Series.  In 2005, Kim Clijsters also captured both the US Open and the Olympus US Open Series, winning $2.2 million -- the largest purse in women’s sports history. 

Now in its sixth season, the Olympus US Open Series has established itself as a true regular season of hard court tennis, linking 10 summer tournaments to the US Open. In 2008, Olympus became the first title sponsor of the Series.  The Olympus US Open Series is also supported by sponsors American Express, Evian and MassMutual Financial Group.