2016 Tournament Preview: BB&T Atlanta Open

February 15, 2016 09:02 AM

Where: Atlantic Station, Atlanta, GA

When: July 30-Aug. 7, 2016; Qualifying: July 30-Aug. 1, 2016

Defending champions: John Isner (singles); Bob and Mike Bryan (doubles)

Tournament website: www.bbtatlantaopen.com

History: The BB&T Atlanta Open moved to Atlanta in 2010 after being held in Indianapolis starting in 1988. Since relocating to Atlanta six years ago, there have been only three champions at the event – Americans Mardy Fish (2010-11), Andy Roddick (2012) and John Isner (2013-15). Past champions of the tournament when it was held in Indianapolis include Boris Becker, John McEnroe, Pete Sampras, Jim Courier, Gustavo Kuerten and Patrick Rafter.

2015 Recap: John Isner won his 10th career title and his third straight at the BB&T Atlanta Open, posting a 6-3, 6-3 win over Marcos Baghdatis of Cyprus in the final. Isner landed 71 percent of his first serves and didn't face a single break point throughout the match, only losing three points on serve in his nine service games. Baghdatis was trying to end a title drought dating back to 2010 in his first ATP World Tour final since 2011.

Bob and Mike Bryan captured the doubles championship in their first appearance in Atlanta, defeating Colin Fleming of Great Britain and Gilles Muller of Luxembourg, 4-6, 7-6 (2), [10-4], for the title. The win was the Bryans' 107th together as a team.

2016 Preview: Atlanta, a 250-level ATP tournament, is the third event on the six-week Emirates Airline US Open Series schedule and the last ATP event held prior to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. Played in downtown Atlanta overlooking the city's skyline, the BB&T Atlanta Open typically draws a talented player field that in the past has included some of tennis' top men's players, including Lleyton Hewitt and Kei Nishikori, and nearly all the top American men, including John Isner, Jack Sock, Andy Roddick, Mardy Fish, James Blake and up-and-coming stars such as Denis Kudla, Jared Donaldson and Frances Tiafoe.

This year's draw is set to include Isner and fellow Top 50 players Kevin Anderson, Jeremy Chardy, Alexandr Dolgopolov, Marcel Granollers, Nick Kyrgios, Benoit Paire, Lucas Pouille and Fernando Verdasco, as well as rising American star Taylor Fritz, Croatian teenage standout Borna Coric and U.S. veteran Donald Young.

Ed. Note: Preview updated 7/29

Fun fact: Andy Roddick won his first career title in Atlanta in 2001 and his 32nd and final championship there in 2012.

- Sally Milano