2017 Preview: Winston-Salem Open

August 18, 2017 09:17 AM

Where: Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, N.C.

When: Aug. 19-26, 2017

Defending champions: Pablo Carreno Busta (singles), Guillermo Garcia-Lopez and Henri Kontinen (doubles)

Tournament website: winstonsalemopen.com


The last stop before the US Open, the Winston-Salem Open sees some of the top men’s players in the game make a final tune-up on the road to New York City.

The ATP World Tour 250 event is being held in Winston-Salem for the seventh consecutive year. Its past champions are John Isner (2011-12), Jurgen Melzer (2013), Lukas Rosol (2014), Kevin Anderson (2015) and Pablo Carreno Busta (2016).

Previously, the event was hosted in Long Island (1990-2004) and New Haven (2005-10), held in conjunction with the New Haven women's event, the Connecticut Open. Past champions in those locations include Long Island winners Stefan Edberg, Lleyton Hewitt, Ivan Lendl and Patrick Rafter, and New Haven titlists James Blake and Marin Cilic.

2016 Recap

Pablo Carreno Busta won his first career title Saturday at Winston-Salem last summer, advancing to the final without dropping a set – including an upset of No. 3 seed Pablo Cuevas in the round of 16 – and rallying to beat No. 2 seed Roberto Bautista Agut, 6-7, 7-6, 6-4. Carreno Busta’s win prevented his Spanish countryman, a last-minute wild card entrant, from achieving his fifth career win.

In the doubles final, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez and Henri Kontinen also came back from the brink of defeat to edge Leander Paes and Andre Begeman, 4-6, 7-6, [10-8]. Garcia-Lopez and Kontinen, playing their first event together, saved six championship points in the second-set breaker and fought their way back into the match to claim Kontinen’s 10th doubles title and Garcia-Lopez’s fourth.

2017 Preview

The final stop on the road to New York City, the Winston-Salem Open attracts a mix of top international talent, established veterans and future stars. This year's field includes three players ranked in the Top 20: 2016 finalists Roberto Bautista Agut and Pablo Carreno Busta and American John Isner. Isner will be joined in the draw by compatriots Steve Johnson and Donald Young.

Others set to compete include 2017 Rogers Cup quarterfinalist and former Winston-Salem finalist Pierre-Hugues Herbert and former Top 10 players Fernando Verdasco and Marcos Baghdatis.

Net Generation Events

Kids' Day: Saturday, Aug. 19
High School Day: Tuesday, Aug. 22
NJTL Clinic: Wednesday, Aug. 23

Fun Fact

Since 2008, only one person has appeared in more than one final: John Isner, who won his first Winston-Salem Open in 2011 and repeated as champion the following summer. In those nine years, nine different nationalities have been represented in the championship match, led by the U.S., France and Spain with three each.

– Ashley Marshall