2018 Preview: Connecticut Open

July 16, 2018 04:10 PM

Where: Connecticut Tennis Center at Yale, New Haven, Conn.

When: Aug. 17-25, 2018

Defending champions: Daria Gavrilova (singles); Gabriela Dabrowski and Yifan Xu (doubles)

Tournament website: http://www.ctopen.org/


The Connecticut Open, the last women’s US Open Series tournament of the season before the US Open, has been played in New Haven since 1998. The tournament, originally called the U.S. Women’s Hard Court Championships, began in 1948 and moved between California, Washington, Utah and Colorado. After a hiatus from 1970-87, it was revived in San Antonio in 1998 and moved to Vermont in 1993. It was held in New Haven as a dual event in conjunction with the ATP World Tour from 2005-10, until the men’s event moved to Winston-Salem, N.C. The event changed its name to the Connecticut Open in 2014.

Past champions at the tournament include Steffi Graf, Lindsay Davenport (two titles), Jennifer Capriati, Venus Williams (four titles), Justine Henin, Caroline Wozniacki (four titles) and Petra Kvitova (three titles).

2017 Recap

Daria Gavrilova (pictured above) took home the first WTA title of her career last year in New Haven, upsetting No. 2 seed Dominika Cibulkova, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, in the final. Gavrilova pulled out a 7-5, 4-6, 7-5 victory over Kristyna Pliskova in the first round, then ousted Timea Babos and Kirsten Flipkens to reach the semifinals, where she topped defending champion and top seed Agnieszka Radwanska, before falling to Cibulkova in the final.

In doubles, Gabriela Dabrowski and Xu Yifan captured the title, edging the Australian pair of Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua, 3-6, 6-3, [10-8], in the final.

2018 Preview

This year's entry list includes three past champions – defending champ Gavrilova, two-time Wimbledon champion Kvitova and 2016 winner Radwanska – along with top WTA stars Caroline Garcia, Wimbledon semifinalist Julia Goerges, Daria Kasatkina, Ashleigh Barty and Magdalena Rybarikova. American Danielle Collins, who has had a breakthrough season in 2018, has also been awarded a main-draw wild card into the tournament.

Fun Fact

Former world No. 1s Venus Williams and Caroline Wozniacki both won the Connecticut Open four consecutive years. Williams took home titles from 1999-2002, and Wozniacki was victorious from 2008-11.